Know Thyself 3 | A personal growth exercise

Hey! Hey! Hey! I’m back with the third and final part of the personal growth exercise I’m doing. Part 1 and Part 2 are here. As I’ve said, I got this from Pinterest from Misty Sansom. So here are my responses for Questions 18 through 25.

know_thyself

18. What do you love to do for, or give to others (not an object – something from you personally)?

For someone who likes being alone most of the time, I’d say I love giving others my time. I love it when I actually look for other people’s company because it rarely happens. So when it happens I make sure to make the most out of it to reconnect with people in my life.

19. What excites you?

Pens, books, and booze. And taking top spot on the list would be lipsticks!

20. What do you wish you did more of?

Adventures and travel. I liked being safe too much when I was younger. I wish I had been a bit more open to adventures before.

21. Pretend money is no object. What would you do?

Pack my bags and go where my feet take me.

22. What area of your life right now makes you feel the best? Which area makes you feel worst? Why?

The truth is, there are a lot of areas in my life that make me feel worse right now but I can’t really talk about it yet. The area that makes me feel best would be is the fact that I feel like I’m on track to making problematic areas of my life better. I feel best right now because I feel like I’m headed somewhere. A feeling I haven’t had in years.

23. Let’s jump forward a year. What would you like to have achieved in the past year?

I hope I’d be an NC II certified caregiver by then and that I’m already processing things to go work abroad. I hope this blog would still be alive and perhaps bigger. I don’t know about bigger but I hope I’d be putting better content by then. Haha! 😀

24. What piece of advice would you give to five-year-old you? Sixteen-year-old you? Twenty one-year-old you? Right now?

To 5-year-old me: “Go outside more. Play like it’s the last day on Earth. Sleep early, drink milk. Brush your teeth. Don’t be afraid. Cry less.”

To 16-year-old me: “A boy you like will ask you to stay and change your college plans, have the courage to ask him why he’s asking that of you. Explain to him why you can’t. Don’t shrug it off, you scaredy-cat.” “Listen to Mom about taking care of your skin. She won’t push you about it and you’d regret it.” “Don’t listen to Mom when she tells you something on your cab ride when you’re about to go to Dumaguete. Stand your ground.”

To 21-year-old: “Don’t be too hard on yourself. Forgive yourself. For the love of God, stop punishing yourself.”

25. How do you want to be remembered in life?

Someone who conquered her greatest obstacle: herself.

***

Aaaand… it’s a wrap! I loved answering these questions. Sure enough, I feel like I know myself a little more. I did have a harder time answering this part though that I pushed it to the very end of my self-imposed deadline. I think Question 25 was the toughest, evidenced by my one-sentence answer. 😀 But I love, love Question 24. It allowed me to really look back on what life was then and reflect on things I needed to hear then. If someone told me those things, would I have listened? Hmmm. I’ll never know. Now, while I can’t turn back time, there’s still so much to look forward to.

If you would like to answer these questions, feel free to do so. And tag me if you’d like! It’d be awesome to see your answers. 🙂 Thank you for reading!

P.S.

How would you answer Question 24? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Know Thyself 3 | A personal growth exercise

  1. Love your answer on the last question! My answer on #24 would be..

    Dear 16 y/o self, don’t give your all to “that” guy. Magtira ka para sa sarili mo para ‘di ka sobrang masaktan kasi iiwan ka din naman n’yan. Maniwala ka sa’kin, I’m from the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

