The Lie We All Say

“How are you?” Somebody asks.

“I’m okay,” you say.

We say “I’m okay” so often we even come to a point of believing we’re okay. It’s sad that we have to lie about this. Heck, I even find myself literally telling myself while I’m breaking down, “You’re okay. It’s okay. Everything will be fine.”

Do I believe everything will be fine? Maybe. But am I really okay?

I think I have gotten so good at pretending that things are fine and dandy because when I’m around people I actually “believe” I’m okay. It’s almost like I’m a completely different person when I’m around people.

It’s when I’m alone and alone in my thoughts that I say, “No, you’re not okay.”

Not okay is all I have right now.

Leave a Reply

